top of page
  • Writer's pictureSkyler Evans

Learning how to leave the pain behind you


You know that thing that always creeps on you in the most awkward moments of your life?


The one thing that you don’t want to acknowledge anymore?

The excruciating pain from all of the hurt you’ve endured.


I know, I know you more than likely don’t want to even think about this pain, as you literally spend all of your time just striving to make it disappear, but today I want to discuss this issue.


I want to stress the fact that it is crucial to your emotional well being to not only speak on your pain , but it is of great importance to leave it all behind you.


If I’m being completely and boldly honest here, I admit I have not been the best at leaving the hurt from my custody battle behind me.


I have humbled myself, yes I have, but a part of the underlying agony continues to follow me around day after day.

Some of you may gaze upon my situation as “just a custody battle” although, many of you with children can only as much as imagine the pain I am feeling and have felt.


Not only have I been faced with the sheer evilness of losing my child, rather, I have also embraced constant belittling, narcissistic abuse, gaslighting, manipulation, and parental alienation.


Further more, it hasn’t only had an everlasting effect on myself, but also on my marriage.

I have been told so many times how worthless I am, I almost start to believe that.


More often than I should, I can’t help but believe these things I’ve been told about myself, which leads me to fall into a deep depression and eventually leads to failure to communicate and self destruction.


Do you know why this happens to me?

Simply put, the reasoning behind this equation is the fact that I just can’t put the pain of the matter behind me.


I am content.

I am happy.

I just have to learn how to leave the pain behind me. So, this is me making a promise to myself publicly, so that way i have no choice but to follow through, that beginning today, i choose to move forward without bringing the discomfort of this situation with me.

I know that we all battle different demons throughout our life and we are constantly coming up with excuses as to why we can not overcome, but listen to me

Stop lying to yourself.

You can always overcome.

With a little faith and a lot of communication, you can conquer your demons like never before.

As I mentioned in my previous post, if you haven’t read it, you totally should.

I expressed how I had been recently practicing gratitude and by that I mean I seriously grab a pen and paper or my awesome journal and I write down the things that I am grateful for.

For some reason, our brains process this much more clear if we actually take the time to write these things down. With that being said , I have created a FREE worksheet for you to download, so you can write down the important things that you are thankful for as well.


I have attached the worksheet to this post just click to save to your device, print it off, and answer those questions for yourself.


I assure you that if you take the next step in leaving your past behind you, you will be living a life of peace and happiness before you know it.

All while continuously watching me grow as well and being able to learn from my mistakes.








88 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page